Lloyd Park E17 as RAGWORKS

For a couple of weeks I’d befriended a large spider which came out in the evenings to survey her world above a picture on my kitchen wall. Today I had her removed because yesterday this false black widow bit me. The pain was nasty. It spread up my forearm from my finger and I’d never experienced that kind of pain before. I’ve been eaten by mosquitoes and survived malaria when my friend didn’t. I’ve been loved by clouds of midges and had a wasp sting. My stomach was upset too.

So I couldn’t make the Lloyd Park Sharing Heritage event today. I’d made bread pudding with stale gluten-free bread as well. And I wanted to share my latest RAGWORKS “Lloyd Park Sharing Heritage” which depicts representations of the moat, the house, gate pillars, the willow tunnel, railings, trees and plants and a nod to William Morris by way of the work’s organic nature and the pattern on a 1960’s discarded tie, sparrows, pigeons, swans and the skate board site.

Never mind.

lPSH rags 2

Blow me down if a very important and necessary proposed heritage project recording the experiences of African-Caribbean and Asian Waltham Forest residents from 1940-1990 didn’t win funding. Shocked am I! How many tick-boxes are there? In fact it is the funders who keep ethnic groups from mixing together by providing money for this and that project as long as some people are included and others are excluded. How many Asian women welfare groups do we really need? And African-Caribbean cultural centres? Maybe as long as advert makers and catwalk designers neglect people from Africa, the Caribbean and Asia in general.  And maybe as long as women feel intimidated by and miserable with their husbands in the UK in 2013.

I was looking forward to the Waltham Forest project because Mauritian women in east London were lining up to tell their stories of factory work in Wood Street E17. Octogenarians were gearing up to share stories of being mixed race in days gone by. Local history stories must include the history of all residents. It can’t be all 1950 London suburbs. I am quite aware that things are gradually changing in my area but it’s not out there.

Do you know about RAGWORKS? How the work is all hand-sewn and refreshed materials are used. It was funny leaving the launch of the RAGWORKS exhibition in Darnley Road Hackney carrying my champagne and flowers and my friends spying the refuse containers  outside a leather factory choc-a-bloc with red silk, fur and black lining. Thanks to my local garment manufacturer, my cupboards are full. Factories in Hackney?? Still?

RAGWORKS continues up until Christmas at the Centre For Better Health,  Hackney. Free exhibition.

Leave a Reply

