Hope Gone

Hope gone.

 

I taught my son to walk

He walked until his Adidas opened out

then he tied black plastic bags

up to his knees

with cardboard under his soles.

 

I taught my daughter to limbo under a branch

She scraped her back on razor-wire

in full glare of the bald security man

who laughed.

 

I taught my wife to swim.

I saw her chestnut coloured hair

fanned out on the water

when she pushed her children to me.

 

I shall grow bitter now

and question every god and every human

and touch photographs

by lit candles in gloom.

Leave a Reply

