Whispered Happenings.

There’s a big shindig happening in the London Borough of WTF all about swifts and creativity and Walthamstow Wetlands and E17 Art Trail and did we all know about it?
I heard someone saying they collected their Swift sticker from The Mill E17 and as I was not being addressed and being well brought-up I never said a word. By chance as I was browsing Eventbrite for local community events I came across the registration for 1000 Swifts Over Walthamstow and the acquisition of a Swift sticker. It really felt I was at someone else’s party but that is always the way of it re: Walthamstow. To join in, we’d make swifts. Well, the rafters at the Mill are stuffed with knitted swifts and graffiti marks the spot. So I’d already begun a RAGWORKS frame with refreshed textiles following the feather design on an image of a swift as I was getting ready for “Soft” at the Mill which by the way was another thing I heard about by having my ears on stalks. So I developed that art work in order to have a frieze in my window to join in. That’s all I’m doing…joining in.

I remember well my late sister being at primary school when the word “Nigger” was common parlance. Imagine! The end of term concert included a row of eleven year olds standing on a bench wearing what now we’d call Afro Wigs and were likely called fuzzy wuzzies then. My sister was well out of it as there weren’t enough wigs so she stood out with a blackened face and wavy light brown hair held off her forehead by a bow clip. That’s the way I seem to be at many places. Not quite the one they wanted.

One thought on “Whispered Happenings.

  1. 1000Swifts June 1, 2017 / 7:04 am

    I’m so glad you are joining in. 1000Swifts was set up by a small group of residents with no funds and it has spread through word and mouth. You can go to the Mill and pick up an arrow and a sticker in exchange for your email rather than a registration number (Eventbrite registration is now closed). Tell other, join the flock. Do so by Friday and be part of the E17ArtTrail.

Leave a Reply

