EastBank Seniors

EastBank Seniors is the November 2021 name given post the official Pandemic ending to Up Your Street, the enterprise to share free activities for seniors around The Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park which under any name old or new has been active for nigh on sixteen years without funding but with an award for services to Londoners.

Subscribed seniors to Up Your Street stopped communicating with me for over two years with one person holding the silence record from July 2019. I heard how Covid and its fears changed people’s behaviour and that’s why I should never hear a dicky- bird as though isolation for me was a godsend and human contact was a luxury. Nonsense. I was very disappointed. Rightly so.

I chose to consider that post the Pandemic, as we kid ourselves, people were two years older, less wanting to be mobile, not wanting to mix and maybe wanted to get out there locally first. We all live near EastBank in the QEOP and we are loved by the V&A staff and so as the new V& A is almost ready at the Park the new name EastBank Seniors suits, we being the local customers.

Well four Christmas cards this year from the couple of hundred subscribers is not all I want for Christmas.

I continue to climb a positive vine.

Leave a comment